[Missed dose guides]

I missed my dose. What do I do?

FDA label rules for 14 medicines · Section numbers cited · Labels checked

Short answer: It depends on the medicine. For weekly shots, Ozempic can be taken up to 5 days late, Mounjaro and Zepbound up to 4 days, and Wegovy and Trulicity if the next dose is more than 2 or 3 days away; otherwise skip it. Daily Rybelsus, Victoza and Saxenda: skip and never double. Testosterone, growth hormone and hCG labels give no rule.

How do missed-dose windows compare across medicines?

Every rule below is taken from the current FDA prescribing information or Medication Guide on DailyMed. The last column is the label section that holds the rule. "No label rule" means we read the full label and it gives no missed-dose instruction.

Missed-dose rules by product, from each FDA label (checked October 17, 2026).
ProductScheduleTake the missed dose ifOtherwiseMinimum gapAfter a longer gapLabel section
OzempicOnce weekly injection, same day each weekTake within 5 days of the missed doseMore than 5 days: skip2 days (48 h)Not addressed2.1
WegovyInjection once weekly; tablets once dailyTake if next dose is more than 2 days awayLess than 2 days to next: skip2 days (48 h)2+ in a row: restart escalation lower2.4
RybelsusOne tablet once dailyDoes not apply (daily)Skip; next one the following dayOne tablet a day maxNot addressed2.1
MounjaroOnce weekly injection, any time of dayTake within 4 days (96 h)More than 4 days: skip3 days (72 h)Not addressed2.1
ZepboundOnce weekly injection (pen, KwikPen or vial)Take within 4 days (96 h)More than 4 days: skip3 days (72 h)Not addressed2.3
TrulicityOnce weekly injectionTake if next dose is 3+ days (72 h) awayLess than 3 days to next: skip3 days (72 h)Not addressed2.3
VictozaOnce daily injectionDoes not apply (daily)Skip; take next scheduled doseNo extra dose3+ days: restart at 0.6 mg2.2
SaxendaOnce daily injectionDoes not apply (daily)Skip; take next scheduled doseNo extra dose3+ days: restart at 0.6 mg, re-escalate2.1
Depo-TestosteroneIntramuscular injection; label range every 2 to 4 weeksNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone
XyostedOnce weekly subcutaneous autoinjectorNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone
Testosterone enanthateIntramuscular injection; label range every 2 to 4 weeksNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone
Genotropin / NorditropinWeekly dose split into 6 or 7 daily injectionsNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone
EgriftaOnce daily subcutaneous injectionNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone
hCG (Ovidrel, Novarel, Pregnyl)Depends on use: single timed trigger shot, or a multi-week courseNo label ruleNo label ruleNot statedNot addressedNone

What patterns do the labels share?

  • No label tells you to double up. The weekly GLP-1 labels set a minimum gap (2 days for semaglutide, 3 days for tirzepatide and dulaglutide). The daily labels (Rybelsus, Victoza, Saxenda) say to skip and take the next scheduled dose.
  • Some windows count back, some count forward. Ozempic, Mounjaro and Zepbound count from the missed dose (5 or 4 days). Wegovy and Trulicity count to the next dose (more than 2 days or at least 3 days away).
  • Restart rules are rare. Only Wegovy (2 or more weekly doses in a row) and Victoza and Saxenda (more than 3 days) say to restart lower. The others are silent, so ask your prescriber.
  • Hormone labels are silent. The testosterone, growth hormone, tesamorelin and hCG labels give dosing schedules but no missed-dose instructions.

Bydureon BCise (exenatide extended-release) is not included: it was discontinued in the U.S. in October 2024.

What if I missed a dose of BPC-157 or another research peptide?

There is no official answer. Research peptides such as BPC-157 and TB-500 have no FDA label, so there is no missed-dose instruction to quote, and the published studies used fixed schedules without testing what to do after a missed dose. We do not make missed-dose pages for them for that reason.

Each compound guide covers what is published: vial sizes, reconstitution math and the half-life where a source supports one. Compounded or research versions of semaglutide and tirzepatide are not FDA-approved products either; the brand labels above describe the approved drugs only. This is not personalized advice; confirm with your prescriber.

Frequently asked questions

Which weekly GLP-1 has the longest missed-dose window?+
Ozempic: its label allows a missed dose up to 5 days late. Mounjaro and Zepbound allow 4 days (96 hours). Wegovy and Trulicity count forward instead: take it if the next dose is more than 2 days (Wegovy) or at least 3 days (Trulicity) away.
Which labels say to restart at a lower dose after missed doses?+
Wegovy injection (2 or more weekly doses in a row missed: restart dose escalation lower), Victoza and Saxenda (more than 3 days since the last dose: restart at 0.6 mg). The Ozempic, Mounjaro, Zepbound and Trulicity labels have no such rule.
Do testosterone, growth hormone or hCG labels have missed-dose rules?+
No. The Depo-Testosterone, testosterone enanthate, Xyosted, Genotropin, Norditropin, Egrifta, Ovidrel, Novarel and Pregnyl labels have no missed-dose instructions. Ask your prescriber.
What about BPC-157 and other research peptides?+
Research peptides have no FDA label, so there is no official missed-dose rule. Published studies used fixed schedules and did not test what to do after a missed dose.
Can I take two GLP-1 doses close together to catch up?+
No label allows it. Ozempic and Wegovy doses must be at least 2 days apart, and Mounjaro, Zepbound and Trulicity doses at least 3 days apart. Daily Victoza, Saxenda and Rybelsus labels say never to take an extra dose to make up.

Sources

  1. OZEMPIC (semaglutide) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published June 10, 2026.
  2. WEGOVY (semaglutide) injection and tablets, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published June 30, 2026.
  3. RYBELSUS and OZEMPIC (semaglutide) tablets, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published August 19, 2026.
  4. MOUNJARO (tirzepatide) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Eli Lilly. DailyMed, version published September 2, 2026.
  5. ZEPBOUND (tirzepatide) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Eli Lilly. DailyMed, version published September 2, 2026.
  6. TRULICITY (dulaglutide) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Eli Lilly. DailyMed, version published August 10, 2026.
  7. VICTOZA (liraglutide) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published November 17, 2025.
  8. SAXENDA (liraglutide) injection, prescribing information and Patient Information. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published June 15, 2026.
  9. DEPO-Testosterone (testosterone cypionate) injection, prescribing information. Pfizer (Pharmacia & Upjohn). DailyMed, version published August 20, 2026.
  10. XYOSTED (testosterone enanthate) injection, prescribing information and Medication Guide. Antares Pharma. DailyMed, version published April 27, 2026.
  11. Testosterone enanthate injection, USP, prescribing information. Hikma. DailyMed, version published May 11, 2026.
  12. GENOTROPIN (somatropin), prescribing information and Instructions for Use. Pfizer. DailyMed, version published August 6, 2026.
  13. NORDITROPIN (somatropin) injection, prescribing information and Patient Information. Novo Nordisk. DailyMed, version published July 25, 2025.
  14. EGRIFTA WR (tesamorelin) for injection, prescribing information and Patient Information. Theratechnologies. DailyMed, version published August 3, 2026.
  15. EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin) for injection, prescribing information and Patient Information. Theratechnologies. DailyMed, version published July 31, 2026.
  16. OVIDREL (choriogonadotropin alfa) injection, prescribing information. EMD Serono. DailyMed, version published December 28, 2023.
  17. NOVAREL (chorionic gonadotropin) for injection, prescribing information. Ferring. DailyMed, version published September 25, 2025.
  18. PREGNYL (chorionic gonadotropin) for injection, prescribing information. Organon. DailyMed, version published December 4, 2025.
  19. UnitedHealthcare provider notice: discontinuation of Bydureon BCise and Byetta (2024).

This page summarizes FDA labeling. It is not personalized medical advice; confirm what to do with your prescriber or pharmacist.

Compound guides · How long GLP-1 drugs stay in your system · Supported medications