Short answer: Mostly, yes. AOD-9604 is amino acids 177 to 191 of growth hormone with a tyrosine added at the front,1 so it is 16 amino acids and often labeled "hGH 176-191."2 In natural growth hormone, position 176 is phenylalanine, not tyrosine.3 Six sponsor trials found it safe, but a 24-week weight-loss trial missed its main goal.42
| AOD-9604 | HGH fragment 176-191 (as the name reads) | |
|---|---|---|
| Sequence | Tyrosine + hGH 177-191 (16 amino acids)14 | hGH 176-191 of the natural hormone, which starts with phenylalanine3 |
| How the names are used | Developer name (Metabolic Pharmaceuticals)4 | Often used as another label for AOD-96042 |
| Approval status | Not approved for any use2 | Not approved |
| Human trials | Six randomized, placebo-controlled trials, about 900 adults; IV (2 trials) or oral (4 trials)4 | None published under this name that we could find |
| Weight-loss result | Failed the primary endpoint in a 24-week oral trial (502 randomized)2 | Not studied |
| IGF-1 and glucose | No effect on IGF-1; no harm on glucose tolerance in the trials4 | Not studied |
| Half-life | Not reported in human trials2 | Not reported |
| FDA compounding status | Nominated but withdrawn; FDA cites immunogenicity risk and possible serious adverse events, causality unclear5 | Not separately listed |
| Sport | WADA S2.2.3, named as a growth hormone fragment6 | WADA S2.2.3, "hGH 176-191" named separately6 |
Mature human growth hormone is 191 amino acids. Its last 15 (positions 177 to 191) read LRIVQCRSVEGSCGF, and the one before them, position 176, is phenylalanine (F).3 AOD-9604 is those last 15 with an extra tyrosine (Y) added at the front, which the developers say stabilizes it.41 That gives 16 amino acids, the same length as positions 176 to 191, so the two names are often used for the same thing.2 Strictly, a fragment copied from natural GH would start with phenylalanine, not tyrosine. The WADA List names both "AOD-9604" and "hGH 176-191" as banned GH fragments.6
The developer ran six randomized, placebo-controlled trials in about 900 adults: two by IV infusion and four by mouth (capsules or tablets), up to 24 weeks long.4 A 2013 safety summary, with authors including staff of the developer, reported no change in IGF-1, no harm on glucose tolerance, no antibodies, and safety similar to placebo.4 That summary does not report weight results. A 2026 review notes the 24-week trial failed its primary weight-loss endpoint, based mainly on sponsor-reported results.2
The fat-loss idea comes from mice: in obese mice it reduced weight gain and raised fat burning, without raising blood sugar or binding the GH receptor.7 The human trials did not test injection under the skin.4 These are study protocols, not personalized advice; confirm any dosing with your prescriber.