Short answer: Epogen has a boxed warning: ESAs raise the risk of death, heart attack, stroke, blood clots and, in cancer, tumor growth, especially when aiming for hemoglobin above 11 g/dL. In dialysis trials the most common side effects were high blood pressure (27.7% vs 12.5% on placebo), joint pain (16.2% vs 3.1%), fever, dizziness and clotting of the dialysis access (8.1% vs 2.1%).
What Epogen is approved for: Epogen is an erythropoiesis-stimulating agent (ESA) approved to treat anemia from chronic kidney disease (on or not on dialysis), from zidovudine in people with HIV, and from myelosuppressive chemotherapy when at least two more months of chemotherapy are planned; and to reduce donor blood transfusions around elective, noncardiac, nonvascular surgery (sections 1.1 to 1.4). The label says it has not been shown to improve quality of life, fatigue or well-being (section 1.5).
Source
EPOGEN (epoetin alfa) injection, for intravenous or subcutaneous use, prescribing information. Amgen. DailyMed, version published July 1, 2026. DailyMed setid 1f2d0b28-9cc5-4523-80b8-637fdaf3f7a5
WARNING: ESAs INCREASE THE RISK OF DEATH, MYOCARDIAL INFARCTION, STROKE, VENOUS THROMBOEMBOLISM, THROMBOSIS OF VASCULAR ACCESS AND TUMOR PROGRESSION OR RECURRENCE
Chronic kidney disease: in controlled trials, aiming for a hemoglobin above 11 g/dL with ESAs raised the risks of death, serious heart and blood vessel events and stroke, and no hemoglobin target, dose or dosing strategy has been found that avoids these risks. The lowest Epogen dose that reduces the need for transfusions is used. Cancer: ESAs shortened survival and/or raised the risk of tumor growth or return in breast, non-small cell lung, head and neck, lymphoid and cervical cancers. They are used only for anemia from myelosuppressive chemotherapy, not when the expected outcome is cure, at the lowest dose that avoids transfusions, and stopped when the chemotherapy course ends. Surgery: because of a higher risk of deep vein clots, clot prevention is recommended.
These are the label's own numbers from the Adverse Reactions section. Where the label compares with placebo (a dummy treatment), both columns are shown, so you can see how much more often a reaction happened on Epogen.
| Adverse reaction | Epogen-treated patients (n = 148) | Placebo-treated patients (n = 96) |
|---|---|---|
| Hypertension | 27.7% | 12.5% |
| Arthralgia | 16.2% | 3.1% |
| Muscle spasm | 7.4% | 6.3% |
| Pyrexia | 10.1% | 8.3% |
| Dizziness | 9.5% | 8.3% |
| Medical Device Malfunction (artificial kidney clotting during dialysis) | 8.1% | 4.2% |
| Vascular Occlusion (vascular access thrombosis) | 8.1% | 2.1% |
| Upper respiratory tract infection | 6.8% | 5.2% |
From three double-blind, placebo-controlled studies of adults on dialysis. Reactions at 5% or more on Epogen and at least 1% more often than on placebo.
| Adverse reaction | Epogen-treated patients (n = 131) | Placebo-treated patients (n = 79) |
|---|---|---|
| Hypertension | 13.7% | 10.1% |
| Arthralgia | 12.2% | 7.6% |
From two double-blind, placebo-controlled studies of adults not on dialysis.
| Adverse reaction | Epogen (n = 168) | Placebo (n = 165) |
|---|---|---|
| Nausea | 35% | 30% |
| Vomiting | 20% | 16% |
| Myalgia | 10% | 5% |
| Arthralgia | 10% | 6% |
| Stomatitis | 10% | 8% |
| Cough | 9% | 7% |
| Weight decrease | 9% | 5% |
| Leukopenia | 8% | 7% |
| Bone pain | 7% | 4% |
| Rash | 7% | 5% |
| Hyperglycemia | 6% | 4% |
| Insomnia | 6% | 2% |
| Headache | 5% | 4% |
| Depression | 5% | 4% |
| Dysphagia | 5% | 2% |
| Hypokalemia | 5% | 3% |
| Thrombosis | 5% | 3% |
Study C1: 16-week double-blind trial in anemia from chemotherapy; Epogen once weekly, mean weekly dose 49,000 IU. Reactions at 5% or more and more often than on placebo.
| Adverse reaction | Epogen (n = 144) | Placebo (n = 153) |
|---|---|---|
| Pyrexia | 42% | 34% |
| Cough | 26% | 14% |
| Rash | 19% | 7% |
| Injection site irritation | 7% | 4% |
| Urticaria | 3% | 1% |
| Respiratory tract congestion | 1% | Not reported |
| Pulmonary embolism | 1% | Not reported |
Four placebo-controlled studies of about 3 months; Epogen 100 to 200 Units/kg 3 times weekly under the skin.
| Adverse reaction | Epogen 300 U/kg (n = 112) | Epogen 100 U/kg (n = 101) | Placebo (n = 103) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Nausea | 47% | 43% | 45% |
| Vomiting | 21% | 12% | 14% |
| Pruritus | 16% | 16% | 14% |
| Headache | 13% | 11% | 9% |
| Injection site pain | 13% | 9% | 8% |
| Chills | 7% | 4% | 1% |
| Deep vein thrombosis | 6% | 3% | 3% |
| Cough | 5% | 4% | 0% |
| Hypertension | 5% | 3% | 5% |
Orthopedic surgery patients given Epogen or placebo daily for 15 days. A second study (S2) compared 600 U/kg weekly for 4 weeks with 300 U/kg daily for 15 days.
In kidney disease trials comparing higher and lower hemoglobin targets, all-cause death was higher in the higher-target groups: hazard ratio 1.27 in the Normal Hematocrit Study (35% vs 29% died) and 1.48 in CHOIR; stroke was higher in TREAT (hazard ratio 1.92) (Table 1).
In 680 spinal surgery patients without clot-preventing medicine, deep vein clots occurred in 4.7% on epoetin alfa vs 2.1% on standard care. In a heart bypass surgery study, 7 of 126 died on Epogen vs none of 56 on placebo.
In 939 women with metastatic breast cancer, death at 4 months was 8.7% on epoetin alfa vs 3.4% on placebo, and 12-month survival was 70% vs 76%.
About 25% of patients on dialysis needed to start or increase blood pressure medicine after starting Epogen.
Thrombosis occurred in 2.7% of dialysis patients on Epogen vs 1% on placebo. In patients not on dialysis, heart attack and erythema each occurred in 0.8% vs 0%.
Reported after approval: seizures, pure red cell aplasia, serious allergic reactions, injection site irritation and pain, porphyria and severe skin reactions.
The Warnings and Precautions part of the label lists these. Each line gives the label's heading and what it means in plain words.
Death, heart attack, stroke and blood clots. Targeting hemoglobin above 11 g/dL raises the risk of serious heart and blood vessel events without added benefit. A rise of more than 1 g/dL over 2 weeks may add to the risk. Clot prevention is recommended around surgery.
Shorter survival or tumor growth in cancer. In nine controlled studies, ESAs were linked with shorter survival and/or worse tumor control in breast, lymphoid, cervical, head and neck, and lung cancers and other non-myeloid cancers.
High blood pressure. Epogen is not used with uncontrolled high blood pressure. Blood pressure is controlled before and during treatment, and Epogen is lowered or withheld if it becomes hard to control. Hypertensive encephalopathy and seizures have been reported in kidney disease.
Seizures. Epogen increases the risk of seizures in kidney disease. People are watched closely for warning neurologic symptoms in the first several months.
Loss of response and pure red cell aplasia. If response is lacking or lost, causes such as iron deficiency, infection or bleeding are checked. Antibodies to erythropoietin can cause pure red cell aplasia (severe anemia); if it develops, Epogen is stopped for good and other ESAs are not substituted.
Serious allergic and skin reactions. Anaphylaxis, angioedema, bronchospasm, rash and hives may occur; Epogen is stopped permanently after a serious allergic reaction. It is stopped right away if a severe skin reaction such as SJS/TEN is suspected.
Benzyl alcohol in multiple-dose vials. Multiple-dose vials contain benzyl alcohol, linked to serious and fatal reactions in newborns and infants. They are not used in newborns, infants, pregnant or breastfeeding women; single-dose vials are used instead.
Albumin and dialysis. Epogen contains human albumin, with an extremely remote risk of viral transmission. Dialysis prescriptions and heparin may need adjusting after starting Epogen.
From the Medication Guide that comes with Epogen:
Dose Track has a side-effect log. Each entry records the symptom, a severity (none, mild, moderate, severe or life-threatening), the date and an optional note, and can be tied to a specific dose or logged on its own. The history screen shows what you logged over time, which makes it easier to tell your prescriber when a reaction started and whether it is easing. The app records what you enter; it does not judge whether a symptom is serious. For anything on the label's call-your-doctor list, call your doctor.
This page is what the FDA label says, in plain words. It is not medical advice. Follow your prescriber, and ask them or your pharmacist about anything here.